Relationship of Command Review

Relationship of Command was the last album where Omar Rodriquez-Lopez and Cedric Bixler-Zavala worked with the other members from At The Drive-In.

TheRealMusician Recommends:

If you want to take marketing your music to another level, then I can't recommend enough John Oszajca's music marketing manifesto. My favorite aspect of his complete program was his stance on email marketing, where he really leverages the that "1000 true fans" philosophy.

His website is a bit hokey (Flaming guitars? Seriously?), but his program really shows independant artists how to get a leg-up on signed artists.

And with the 8 years they spent together (they are disbanded now, Omar and Cedric went on to create The Mars Volta and the other members created SPARTA.) this is as good as it gets.

Cedric's post-hardcore screamo/singo vocals have never been more precedent, and the melodies have never been this soothing.

Some songs that really stuck out for me were the opening Arcarsenal, the single One Armed Scissor, and the intensely creepy Enfilade.

Take a listen to Enfilade while you finish this review.

At The Drive-In - Enfilade

Although the ending "Non-Zero Possibility" was a bit of a disappointment for me, the rest of the album held very strong together...I mean VERY strong.

Set List

  • Arcarsenal
  • Pattern Against User
  • One Armed Scissor
  • Sleepwalk Capsules
  • Invalid Litter Dept.
  • Mannequin Republic
  • Enfilade
  • Rolodex Propaganda
  • Quarantined
  • Cosmonaut
  • Non-Zero Possibility
  • Extracurricular
  • Catacombs

As usual, Cedric's lyrics are often confusing, but with just the right amount of feel to let you know what it could mean.

More specifically, Enfilade has some of the creepiest lyrics I have ever heard (next to Prison Sex by Tool).

He talks about a kidnapping, and a snuff style video taping of a brutal murder (On the train tracks). The feel is very disturbing, and one of the more powerful songs on the album.

As I mentioned earlier, the album is solid. Really solid.

There are no real "bad" tracks on the release, but some definitely shine more than others.

New! Comments

Leave me a comment in the box below.

Learn To Build Your Band's Website

My free 48-page guide to building your band's website will take you from start-to-finish in setting up a professional website for your band. It covers:

  • choosing a web host & installing wordpress
  • choosing a theme
  • essential elements to include on your site
  • why blog, and what about
  • much more

Enter your name and email below to get this free guide today!

First Name

Don't worry — your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you The Real Update.

About The Writer

My name is Andrew Muller. I love creative art, music, television shows, movies, video games, and a good story.

If you had to find me somewhere, you would probably find me down at O'neils home cooking eating an organic sweet-potato bun breakfast sandwich with ham.

Among my friends, it's a "Muller Classic Move" to eat Mcdonald's at 2am because it's cheap and open 24/7. The joke here is that I'm an idiot. 

I play drums, guitar, piano, and I write & perform music for My Goal Is Telepathy. Take a listen to the latest sound here.